Call Today 803.359.3301
Penalties for Driving Under Suspension in Lexington, SC

Penalties for Driving Under Suspension in Lexington, SC

In the state of South Carolina, your driver's license could be suspended for a number of different reasons. These include accumulating 12 or more points on your driving record, driving without auto insurance, driving under the influence (DUI) or driving with an unlawful alcohol content (DUAC), failing to pay a traffic ticket or failing to maintain SR-22 insurance after being convicted of a drunk driving offense. The length of the suspension will depend on the circumstances of its confiscation. For example, the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) would have the authority to revoke your driving privileges for 3 months if you have accumulated between 12 and 15 points on your driving record, while a first-time DUI offense could result in an immediate 6-month suspension. The more serious the offense, the longer you will be without a driver's license.

While you can take measures to have it reinstated with the help of a Lexington criminal attorney from the Law Offices of James R. Snell, Jr., LLC, it is important to understand that you would be strictly prohibited from getting behind the wheel until the period of suspension has ended. If you were to be caught driving under suspension (DUS), you could face some serious legal penalties—including a prolonged period of suspension and costly fines. It is also important to note that the penalties will vary, as it will ultimately depend on the reason for the initial suspension. Since DUI-related suspensions are treated differently than point-related suspensions, you could either face stricter or more lenient consequences for a driving under suspension offense—which can be found under South Carolina Code Ann. § 56-1-460.

S.C. Code Ann. § 56-1-460(A)(2) states that anyone who is found guilty of driving with a suspended, revoked or cancelled license for reasons of DUI or DUAC will be subject to a $300 fine and/or term of imprisonment for 10 to 30 days. For a second offense, the penalties would be increased to $600 in fines and a term of imprisonment for 60 days. Finally, a third offense could lead to $1,000 in fines and a term of imprisonment for 90 days to 6 months. That being said, you should not hesitate to retain the help of a Lexington traffic ticket lawyer from our firm if you or someone you love has been accused of driving under suspension. In doing so, you may be able to minimize or completely avoid the penalties that you are currently facing. Call our office today at (888) 301-6004 for a free initial consultation or submit a free case evaluation form online.


Get Started Today

We're Available to Schedule Immediate, Same-Day Consultations
    • Please enter your name.
    • This isn't a valid phone number.
    • Please enter your email address.
      This isn't a valid email address.
    • Please make a selection.
    • Please enter a message.